MailWasher and eM Client

I am considering using MailWasher to filter out spam and other unwanted email garbage and was wondering if anyone in this forum has any experience with its interaction with eM Client (good or bad).

On their website, they say that “MailWasher lets you preview all your email before it gets to your computer or mobile device, enabling you to read all your email securely, and instantly delete any unwanted or suspicious email. Your remaining good email is downloaded to your PC or mobile device, so you avoid any spam or email viruses in your PC.”

Does this mean eM Client has to be offline most of the time? If so, what is the point of IMAP?

Look forward to your findings Al.

I’m a POP3er but I am not sure I would like to eMC offline. I will have to do a more through look thru the settings, etc and then pepper the MW support people for some clarification.

I have been using a fantastic spam filter called POPFILE for MANY MANY years but each new version of Windows 10 causes issues with keeping it running (goes to sleep on occasion).

I don’t necessarily like to alter my “habits”… :wink: :smiley:

POP3 is offline until the scheduled sync, and I believe that is the exact scenario that MailWasher is designed for. It gives you a chance to preview your messages using their application before eM Client downloads them.

With PUSH IMAP, which is what eM Client uses by default, the application is constantly listening to the server. That is why when someone sends you a message, within a second it is there in your eM Client Inbox. I don’t see how MailWasher fits into that equation.

Hopefully someone using MailWasher with eM Client in POP3 mode will comment for your benefit Al. If someone is using it with IMAP in eM Client, I would be interested to know how that works.

viernes 04 diciembre 2020 :: 2009hrs (UTC +01:00)

Hi @sunriseal