How Do I Prevent eM Client Downloading Mail From Server?

I just set up a friend’s email. I’m fairly new to this. When I did mine, I set it up using Thunderbird and eM Client together because TB wouldn’t stay as the default mail client, and POP wouldn’t work. Together, they work as I want.

The issue I’m having with my friend’s is that I can’t find where to prevent it from DL emails. I set it up using only eM Client. I selected POP and and the option to prevent DL from the server, but it hasn’t used the settings I chose. I know how to prevent TB doing that, but apparently not eM Client.

So where do I go and what is the procedure to stop eM Client DL emails from the mail server?

Do you mean you want to prevent eM Client from receiving messages automatically when using POP3? If that is what you want, untick these two options in your settings:

Once you have done that, you will have to click the Refresh button in eM Client to receive new messages.

If you also want to disable sending messages automatically, you will need to untick this setting:

I did what you said, but it didn’t work. BTW, how do I check to make sure that it’s set to POP and not IMAP? And also, how do I delete the DL emails without removing them from the server?

Fortunately the email I tested is one that my friend didn’t need, because it deleted it from the server!

Go to Menu > Accounts and click on the email account. It will have either a POP3 or IMAP tab.

If your account is setup as POP3, then you can select the options in Menu > Accounts, and on the POP3 tab.

The settings above will not delete messages from the server after they have been downloaded.

It’s set on IMAP. I specifically set it to POP when setting it up, so I don’t know why it didn’t do it. I can’t figure out how to change it to POP3.

You can’t change it to POP3. You need to remove the account, then set it up again.

Please see the Help File on instructions for setting up a POP3 account.