Win10 resize handle / border is very narrow

Greetings!

I’m new to eM and would like to toss out an observation.

I have (somewhat) unsteady hands. Using the mouse to grab the edge of a dialog to resize it can be a challenge, especially with a high DPI monitor.

This was a major complaint of the previous email client I was using. At least eM seems to remember dialog sizes far better than so it is less of a problem but resizing is still a bit tedious.

Windows 10 and the thin borders are part of the problem but was wondering if something else could be done programmatically that would make the resize handles larger and easier to grab.

CQ

Hi CQ
You can thicken the scroll bars in Windows:
Start > Settings > Ease of access, switch off “Automatically hide scroll bars in Windows”

And you can thicken the scroll bars in eM Client but it is tricky:

• Open eM Client Settings > Appearance > Themes
  • Select the theme you want to use (if not already selected)
  • Click Advanced > “Save current theme as”. Save it wherever you like, give it a name like if it is the Arctic theme, name it Arctic CQ
  • Open the file ArcticCQ.emtheme that you saved in Notepad
  • Locate the section
  • Carefully change the “Use system scrollbars with no automatic hiding” to True
  • In eM Client go to Settings > Appearance > Themes and click Import. Locate the file you modified and it will import. Select that new theme.
1 Like

Thank you for your reply.

Okay, I made your change as it as easily (I was making the text black instead of gray) but that does not seem to affect the border itself and the area used for resizing.

The following image is a COMPOSITE of three screen captures of the same area and enlarged 8 times. It shows the cursor three times:

1. As a pointer just to left of the border line
  2. As a resize handle on the border line
  3. As a pointer just to the right of the border line

Cursor edge

For perspective, this is close to the lower-right corner of the main dialog.