When emails are archived from the general unread folder, they should disappear right away

In the general unread folder, the emails disappear after they are deleted. This is also good. But they do not disappear when they are archived. I do not understand this. You always have to change the folder first and then back again, so that they also disappear from the unread folder.

Feature request: When emails are archived from the general unread folder, they should disappear right away.

1 Like

In the general unread folder, the emails disappear after they are deleted. This is also good. But they do not disappear when they are archived.

When you archive and email in the unread folder, then click on another folder and then click back on the unread folder and you will see its then gone.

However yes would be good to also automatically dissapear when you archive like delete as you said.

Yes, that is also what I always have to do to clean up the unread folder. But that’s annoying. They should disappear immediately. For me, there is no apparent reason why the behavior is not the same as when deleting the emails. :man_shrugging:

The difference is when you delete a message, it no longer exists, so there is nothing to display.

For messages you read, we display them there until you shift focus to another folder, and the same with a message you have moved.

Thank you for your reply. But I don’t see any technical difference here. Also a deleted email is first moved to another folder. The trash folder. But it still exists. When archiving basically nothing else happens. The email is moved to the archive. So it is no longer in the inbox. Either all emails stay in this folder, no matter if they are deleted, moved or archived, or they all disappear. Unfortunately, this behavior is not what the user expects. It is not consistent to do it differently when deleting than when archiving or moving.

If I am in the inbox and archive an email there, it disappears without me having to switch the folder back and forth. This is also what I expect as a user, how the software behaves. But that’s exactly what doesn’t happen in the unread folder specifically.

1 Like

The difference is that when you delete a message it no longer exists. Sure, it is in the Trash for a while, but those messages, just as with Junk, are not included in the Unread folder.

And the Inbox and the Unread folder do not work the same.

The Unread folder is really just a filter, not an actual folder. In the Unread folder we leave messages there until you switch folders, even when they have been read, otherwise you would end up with a cascade and all messages would be marked as read and disappear in turn automatically before you could look at them.

I understand how it works. That’s why my post was originally in the feature request forum until it was moved here. It is just a feature that I would like to see.

Even if it’s just a filter, I’m sure a filter can be configured so that archived emails disappear, but emails just opened and still in the inbox remain in the folder until the folder is egchanged.