Version 8 has suddenly started hanging

I’ve been using emClient for several years. Suddenly it has started hanging. It now hangs consistently whenever I access the calendar. I’ve completely uninstalled and reinstalled from a new download then restored a backup database from before this happened. I changed themes in case that was an issue but that did not make a difference. Now I’m stuck. (Using Windows 10)

Perhaps there is some issues involving your VPN or A/V apps?
Turning them off, temporarily, may yield an answer.

When you say “hanging” can you elaborate on that. eg: is the program freezing, or just stop working.

An hour-glass cursor appears and if I click anytime after that, Windows says the program is not responding and things stay that way.

Good thought. I attempted to disable McAfee without any improvement.

Ok. As you have already uninstalled and reinstalled eM Client & same issue, sounds either like something in memory possibly interfering with eM Client, or an eM Client database issue.

First thing I would try is “Disable all background tasks on startup” in Windows and reboot and see if eM Client works ok. If it does then work ok, enable the background tasks one at a time and reboot in between, till you find which background program that is causing it.

If disabling background tasks makes no difference to the issue, re-enable background tasks and reboot. Then backup eM Client via “Menu / Backup” and then uninstall EMC and “delete the database” when asked on uninstall to test if the EMC database is the issue.

Then open eM Client and test with a new account setup to see it makes any difference to the hour glass problem.