Suddenly downloaded ALL of my old emails again!

I have been using eM Client for a couple of years now, and don’t usually have any problems, however this is the third time this has happened, and it’s a major problem for me.  Out of the blue, eM Client downloaded ALL of my old emails from both Comcast and GMail, so that I am now left with about 10,000 “unread” emails.  I had only 150 unread emails this morning, and now I have 10,000! It’s going to be a real pain to go through them, figure out which ones were really unread, and delete, delete, delete.  I have not changed anything on my system, but this is the third time this has happened. Please don’t tell me that’s what it is supposed to do!  It isn’t! For six months it has only pulled new email from Comcast like it’s supposed to. Now this morning it decided to download everything–absolutely everything that is on my Comcast account. 

To make things worse, when I see this is happening, there is not even any way to STOP the download.  How do you shut off send/receive?  What a mess!

I’ll really appreciate any help.  Thank you.

Hello Jean,
this is a rather curious issue, are both of these accounts set up as IMAP? Do you perhaps, just sporadically, check these email accounts on another device/client/webmail where they may be set up with a different protocol?

As for stopping the sync, you should always be able to end synchronization by switching to Offline mode in File>Work offline. However, if the messages are unread on the server, eM Client will synchronize to that once you turn the offline mode off again (but it can give you time to check if the change happened in eM Client or on the server). eM client cannot mark these messages as such on its own.

Regards,
Olivia

Hi Olivia,