Sign in with Google

I’ve just received a message from Google telling me that I will no longer be able to send/recive messages after 30th May unless I use Sign In With Google or other more secure technologies like Oauth 2.0. I’d rather not have to, is there any way around it?

2 Likes

Aj mňa by to uzaujímalo, či budem dostávať správy so serveru gmail po 30.05.2022

I also received this message. I am a computer repair tech and have many clients that use eMClient what now? Is there a fix for this?

I’m no expert, but I think one way out is to turn on “2-step Verification” (Turn on 2-Step Verification - Computer - Google Account Help), and then set up an “App Specifc Password”. Specifics can be Googled if this seems like something folks/customers want to do. Also, I’m not sure if this solution is covered or not by Google’s recent announcement referenced at top.

I read about the 2 step verification option, but chose not to enable it because I don’t know whether you can switch it off if you decide against it. If enabling it means that I get a verification message every time eM Client does a refresh then obviously I don’t want that. I’d rather spend my time until May finding an alternative to Gmail.

You can switch it off, although that doesn’t mean Screwgle hasn’t collected/stored/retained information about that your 2SV ability:

I have 2SV set up in my Outlook client and my eM-C client and do not get additional requests to verify. But I am stumped as to how this approach, i.e. a single password provided via 2SV set-up and permanently stored in client software, is any better than my personally chosen password stored the exact same way.

Others with more knowledge about app-specific password approach and general authentication issues may be able to shine more light.

Has EmClient posted any information on this? I fear a nightmare is coming.

I’d rather spend my time until May finding an alternative to Gmail.

Fastmail
Runbox