I want to add a new account and restore all my email from the other account to it. But “Restore” always takes me back to a date prior to opening the new account, which deletes the new one. Suggestions please!
Is your new account a IMAP, Exchange, Office 365 or iCloud account?
Or is your new account a POP account?
Its IMAP. Thanks for the reply.
As your new account is IMAP, then I would just restore your previous account to get your old emails back and then readd your new IMAP account which will then sync all your emails from the server back to eM Client.
You don’t loose any emails if you remove and readd an IMAP account as all your email resides on the server.
Note: Before doing anything though, make a manual backup of eM Client in case you need to restore for any reason. “Menu / Backup” (Pc) or “File / Backup” (Mac). You can see when the backup is complete in Show Operations via clicking the drop down arrow on the right of Refresh top left.
Hi, Thanks for the reply. If I understand it correctly I fear it has opened several cans of worms though.
I am about to lose access to the server where the old account and all the emails are stored. However I do still have access to it at the moment.
I’ve re-added my new account and it seems to be working OK but there is no sign of the emails from the old account. They should be in “archive” and “sent items”
I’ve done various back-ups recently and all the emails from the old account seem to be present, although not in the default location, which I understand should be
Would I be correct about that?
Instead they seem to be at
C:\ Users\username\Documents\eM client\backup…
And if I try to “restore” neither of these addresses seem to work.
Talk about confusing!
I am about to lose access to the server where the old account and all the emails are stored. However I do still have access to it at the moment
If you are wanting to save emails “in an email account that is about to be closed”, then you could “create a folder in Local Folders” at the bottom left of eM Client called eg: Old Mail and then drag all your messages and message folders from the account that is about to be closed to Old Mail in Local Folders. They will then be safe if that account is disconnected.
You can then later drag those Old Mail messages and message folders back to your new email account or any other mail account you like.
Or you can leave those old account messages in Local Folders which can then be accessed anytime. If you do move messages in Local folders, remember to regularly backup eM Client.
Note: If you don’t see Local Folders go to “Menu / Settings / General” (Pc) or “eM Client / Preferences / General” (Mac) and enable Show Local Folders". Then save settings.
I didn’t realise you could move folders about in the left hand panel like that!