my emails are gone please help me

hello i have em client free version 60201540. em client copies all my emails from my xfinity email account into itself and when i (totally delete) them out of em client not wanting two copies of all the same emails by the next day they are also gone from my xfinity email inbox. how can i stop this from happening as i only need xfinity to hold the original emails in it’s inbox. Thank you kindly everyone and please forgive me as i am new to this whole digital age stuff but i am learning.

Hi, are you using IMAP or POP for receiving messages?

Thank you,
Paul.

Rather than deleting them, have you tried getting rid of the duplicate emails by using the Deduplicator tool which can be found in the Tools menu?

A later thought… Did I misunderstand? Are you saying that eM Client holds one copy of every email but you have a separate copy of every email when you look at you xfinity account using a browser? If so, why are you using eM Client?

It’s quite normal to be able to access emails in these two different ways - your email provider will hold the “original” copies of the emails and eM Client will access these and allow you easy access to them on your computer without the hassle of using a web browser to read them. Perhaps the solution is to just not worry about there being these two different places where your emails are stored - they’ll know all about each other and will happily work together. That’s what I do - it’s the normal way of working.

Hi Jerry,

It seems that you’re using IMAP to download your e-mails. That means that the e-mail on your server will be synchronized with the e-mail on your (local) computer (and the other way around).

In other words: if you delete an e-mail from the ‘inbox’ on your local computer, it will also be deleted from your ‘inbox’ on the server. So be careful with deleting e-mails!

Why do you think you will have copies of e-mails on your local computer?