Latest update killed MAPI

Hi there.

I am a developer who has an accounting package. One of my customers is using eM Client (at my recommendation) for their email. They have purchased it but as I don’t have their credentials to post with I’ll just use the free support forum.

The update done 2 days ago now raises an error during email generation.  After spending 8 hours reinstalling fonts, run-time libraries, MAPI DLL’s, testing with blank reports, I finally solved the issue by rolling back to the previous version of eM Client.

My customer is using eM Client solely for the purpose of email generation via MAPI, thus if these updates are required for security reasons we may need to re-examine our approach.  The MAPI error didn’t give me much, just an error 999 “Operation not yet implemented”.

Can you please confirm what could have changed to stop MAPI working?  If needed I can provide proof of purchase of your professional customer.

Thanks for you time,
Cheers
Jonathan

Hello Jonathan,

If you/your client has a PRO licence but you don’t have the credentials to log in to our support portal, please send this problem description to my colleagues at: [email protected].

Regards,
Russel

Thanks so much for replying.

It may seem the issue may not be with eM Client, at least, not exclusively so - in that it was most probably a Windows Update which broke our MAPI.  I’ll let you know what I find when I find it.  Possibly it may save someone else a few hassles! 

Ok, so here’s where I’m at now!  It most definitely was not a Windows Update (they have the service disabled), and someone there re-updated eM Client after my rollback and re-crashed the MAPI emailing!

Before fixing it again I grabbed a little information, all I really have though is version numbers.  The version which works is 7.1.31658.0 and the version which broke it is 7.1.31849.0

The actual error caused by the MAPI from Crystal Report Writer is: -
Error:999 Error in file .\invoice.rpt: