Sometimes an EM client is displayed in WinOptimizer, although nothing is logged in to the EM client yet – should I wait? Then you install the update and the previous version remains on the computer – do you have to, or can you uninstall it separately?
I don’t know what WinOptimizer or what version of eM Client you have, but if you are upgrading eM Client you normally don’t have to uninstall your old version first “unless you want a clean install”. The newer update version just normally upgrades your old version when it installs.
If you are upgrading to eg: V11 from V10 or older and have Windows “and want to keep all your existing settings etc” and originally downloaded eM Client directly from the website, then you can download the MSI installer version via the following page that includes (the last) MSI installer: Download eM Client 11 for Windows | eM Client.
The MSI version doesn’t contain the app itself - it keeps your existing file associations and then installs version 11 through the .appinstaller
Note: Before upgrading first make a backup via “Menu / Backup” incase you need to restore for any reason. Also “close eM Client” before upgrading.
If you want to do a new eg: clean Windows or Mac eM Client V11 install and have a backup of eM Client already and have uninstalled eM Client, then go to following download page and install.
If you have a Mac and want to eg: upgrade to V11 or older and keep all your existing settings etc, then also backup eM Client via “Menu / Backup” and after closing eM Client go to the release history page and download the update and install.