[IMAP] Unable to create trash folder on server (Invalid mailbox name)

I’m a new eM user moving from Outlook. I imported mail ok from my old pst file. Generally I like the application. But I have a problem when deleting mail. The Trash folder remains empty and it has a red “!” next to it. I also get this error message:

[IMAP] Unable to create folder “mailbox/Trash/” on the server. (Invalid mailbox name.)

n.b. it shows my email address for mailbox above,.

As I am able to send and receive e-mails without error, how can the mailbox name be invalid?

Please note I have read the posts about duplicate Trash folders on servers, but in my case I have never used IMAP before. I used to use POP3 with Outlook. So there shouldn’t be an existing Trash folder on the server. The mail server is on my own domain, and is hosted by my ISP.

Thanks, John

Hi,

If you are using IMAP and do not store any emails locally, I recommend deleting and re-adding your mail account. What probably happened is that during the import, the Trash file somehow got converted into a locally created Trash file, which the server doesn’t recognize and does not allow. When you recreate your account, it will sync with the server’s Trash folder and should work properly.

Dave

Hi Dave, I’m in a similar position.
Whenever I sent, delete or save an email, a new trash/sent/drafts folder is created and I get the following error:
[IMAP] Unable to create folder “mailbox/Trash/” on the server. (Invalid mailbox name.)

I can find no way to alter the server location for these folders and simply want items to be placed in the existing folder already on the server. Previous posts make reference to Default folders - I have no obvious option to alter where sent/drafts/deleted items go. Altering Automatically detect special folder names also has no effect. Please help

Hello Daniel,
can you please copy the full content of the Tools>Operations>Log window next time this error appears?

Regards,
Olivia