eM Client Portable USB Version

Okay guys, I think I figured out how to make eMClient portable, as in run it from your USB thumb drive, memory card, external HDD or wherever you want.

I am really new here and I’ve been looking for a replacement email/calender client for my trusty old Thunderbird portable for quite some time and decided to give emClient a
try, but I am obcessed about portable apps, even at my home computer so I was desperate to get emClient to work portably.

Anyway after some hacking around I came to this hack.

Disclaimer: I am no programer, just a “power user”, so I don’t know if this breaks anything, or violates the software license. (To the developers: I don’t mean to do anything illegal here).
Notice: This is not a fully portable “stealth” solution, the emClient folder in your Windows profile is still created although it is not really used. Also I tried it only on the free version, not sure if it works on the commercial one, due application differences or license file storage or retrieval.

So here is how to do it

1. Copy your emClient installation folder to wherever you want it to rest (thumb drive, external hard drive etc.) lets say F:\Applications\emClient
  2. Create a new empty text file in F:\Applications
  3. Save this file with watever name you want but with the extension .bat (not txt)
    Lets say ``` eMClientPortable.bat
4. Open this ``` eMClientPortable.bat ``` file in notepad and write the following  

cd emclient  
start mailclient.exe /dblocation .\databasepath  

5. Where ``` .\databasepath ``` is the relative path to the folder on your drive where emClient will place the database files. Customize it as you like but keep it relative so it compensates for Windows drive letter changes)  
6. If you have a previous database you would like to use just copy it to this new location, which in this case would be ``` F:\Applications\emClient ``` ``` \databasepath ```