eM Client File Structure and Content

I am new to eM Client and am looking for documentation or articles which describe the various files used by the application. My particular focus at this time is files that are associated with the Backup and Archive functions. I have a rather large e-mail account (12-13 GB) on Outlook.com that I would like to transfer to a portable file that is both accessible and searchable with commonly available tools. Any recommendations?

There are two types of archiving. Server-side archiving which just moves the messages to a special folder on the server, and which is listed among your other server folders like Inbox, Sent, etc. seen in eM Client. And Automatic Archiving, which moves the messages from the server, to a separate set of folders in eM Client that are not synced with a server. Both types of archived messages are still in eM Client and are fully searchable and accessible.

Backups are snapshots of the complete database, which you can use at a later date to restore the database with all local data and settings to the way it was when the backup was made.

The database is not portable. It can only be used by one installation of eM Client.

However, any folders in eM Client that are synced with a server (including server-side archives) will sync with any other installation of eM Client and any other application that connects to the same server account.

In past years when I was working, I used the desktop version of Outlook in most jobs. I made it a habit to periodically save my e-mail to a PST file and then start anew. The PST files were both accessible and searchable via Outlook. They did not consume server storage as they were local files (and sometimes very large local files).

Unfortunately, Outlook.com currently has no save method. Use of server-side archiving, while possible, seems dubious as it would still consume server storage. And I am already pushing Outlook.com’s 15 GB limit.