That sounds like a bad idea to remove what is clearly a useful function.
I need to disable an account as getting a message every sync cycle that a particular mail server is offline. Deleting and Adding the email account is a clumsy way of managing activity.
Yes it was a very useful function that ended with version 6. The current solution in version 7.1.x with a Pro License is to untick the IMAP and SMTP boxes (and any other services) in the account settings. That way the account just sits there doing nothing until you tick them again.
Of course that also removes the folders from eM Client. ;-(
Until I got to the last sentence, it all sounded good.
I wonder if just unticking POP3 will suspend collection and leave the account intact? SMTP Shouldn’t be triggered until a mail is attempted to be sent.
Yes, sorry about that last sentence. It was an afterthought, and is not complete. The folders are removed from view, but the contents are still retained so when you tick it again there is no need to do a full resync.
Unticking POP3 will also remove the POP3 folders from view, but keep the contents intact. This is different from deleting the account, which purges the database of the contents for both POP3 and IMAP. If when setting up the POP3 account, you chose to use shared folders, so the POP3 messages are stored in Local Folders, they will remain visible even when the POP3 service is unticked.
There is a checkbox in the general tab of the accounts menu that says “Include when sending/receiving email”. The documentation claims that this can be used to “Temporarily suspend an account”. I have not tried it, but it seems like that is what you want.
Because it shouldn’t be trying to authenticate if it’s not going to be downloading. I have the same problem. I have a mail server that is intermittently unavailable. I would like to stop checking it all the time. I only want to check it manually. Even though I took it off the group to check and download, it still tries to authenticate then tells me server is unavailable. I dont want to delete the account and re-add every few weeks. Thunderbird allowed this but I quit it when it stopped getting updated. Now I paid for EM Client and I’m surprised that this basic feature was removed.
I think it was a very bad idea to remove ability to disable account login.
How am expected to see years of email history if I no longer have active account?
Another problem is; its very annoying having to cancel the login prompt in order to use my active accounts.
Hope this is not a scam to force users to enter their password, in case the account is still active; otherwise I don’t see how it benefits developer to keep asking for password month after month after month.
After all, we are in the age of AI might be asking a bit much here.