Customizing/Creating Themes - Will it be easier in future versions?

I am new to eM Client and just started evaluating it this week.
I am a software engineer so immediately I wanted to see how it could be customized, and happy to find themes.  As I found in many posts here, there aren’t many, which is sad.  But in searching out posts about creating or customizing themes, and trying it out myself, I’m finding it cumbersome at best.  I have no problem modifying xml files, but testing changes means importing again, and the list of installed themes seems to grow because it doesn’t allow updating an existing theme.  And having make changes externally means a tedious process that takes far longer than it should.  And documentation about themes is, well, less than acceptable IMHO.

So far I like the app, for the most part, and I am giving serious consideration to switching away from that blasted GMail atrocity (and their new version which is worse).  But me and my team spend a lot of time in email and having the look/feel easily customizable is a big issue.  So I am hoping to hear from the development folks that this is slated for improvement in upcoming versions soon.

If I am missing something in regards to this - please do let me know - I have been toying with the idea of bringing the Solarized them to eM Client - something that a great many popular apps have - but the tediousness of doing it is keeping me just pondering.

What I would like to see and I have asked for, is for eM Client to set up a repository that can be populated by users themes that they wish to share.  Not only would this be easier for those capable of editing an xml file, but would allow someone with little technical expertise to have access to customization.

I think the long term goal of making theme creation/modification easier is a good one, but in the short term, I would like to see my idea implemented.