can't import the settings.xml file

Hello All,

I’m a pro user and I have a ticket open on this but it’s quite slow getting responses, so trying here also. EmClient was running very slow, so I was advised to export all the data to another folder, re-start and import back in, to see if things improved.

However, having exported the data to the new storage folder and being asked to import the settings.xml file back into the program, it appears there is no settings file that I can see in the new folder, therefore I can’t import the data back.

The net result of this is that I now have a completely blank em client program and can’t use any email, which is a major problem because I’m using this for work.

Does anyone know how to fix this please?

There is a difference between settings and data.

Exporting your data will export only the email messages, events and contacts, depending on which you selected. It will not export the settings. Exporting settings will do items like email account logins, templates, Rules etc. It does not contain your email messages, events or contacts. So these are two different things. Exporting data will not include settings, and exporting settings will not include data.

If you want to import data, don’t select to import settings. If you want to import settings, don’t choose data.

Best is to just restore the backup that Support should have advised you to make before doing anything, then you are back to square one.

Hi Gary,

They didn’t advise a back up, I was just asked to change the storage folder to a new folder, export everything to the new folder, re-start the program and import the settings file, but it’s not working.

The original data presumably is still in the original folders. How would you go about importing all the old data back? At the moment I can’t get it running from the new folder or the old one.