I need certain senders or domains to be handled as blacklisted, that means deleted permanently right upon arrival, ideally without notification and also rejected as spam towards the sender’s server…
It seems I can achieve this either by using the blacklist in settings or with a rule. Blacklist would be easier to add to than a rule. However I would like to know what exactly happens to the message which gets rejected automatically by blacklist? As I sync my mail with server using IMAP, I am afraid blacklist only makes the message invisible in my eM Client but it still remains in the IMAP folder and other users of a shared mailbox will still receive it with their mail? If this is true, than I have to use rules instead which can really delete the message for everybody…
As I sync my mail with server using IMAP, I am afraid blacklist only makes the message invisible in my eM Client but it still remains in the IMAP folder and other users of a shared mailbox will still receive it with their mail? If this is true, than I have to use rules instead which can really delete the message for everybody…
From eM Client 10.1 upwards eM Client supports server-side Blacklists as well as Whitelists for IceWarp and SmarterMail accounts as per the following eM Client blog page link below. If there is other mail servers now officiallly supported other forum users might update this thread.
For standard email accounts (IMAP, POP3, etc.), eM Client just handles the blacklisting locally within the application. It does not delete the message from your email provider’s server or move it to a server-side spam folder, meaning the email still exists on the server unless your provider’s own separate server filters catch it.
So if you are using IceWarp or SmarterMail servers the blacklist in eM Client is applied & synced to the server end mailbox and will move/handle messages accordingly on the server side. If you don’t have one of those servers then you will need to either keep using a rule as you have been doing or setup a blacklist on your server mailbox end which then will apply for other users.