Beware closing with X vs. Exit (Win11)

I closed emclient using the X at top right of window, then tried to restart, and it wedged. The only way I could bring it up again was to close it in task manager, then it came up, corrected errors, and was ok. I send in a trouble report, here is an excerpt of the reply:

“When you close eM Client with the X button, it can keep running in the background for a short while to finish its work and close the database properly. Please also check Menu > Settings > General > General: if eM Client is set to close to the system tray, clicking X only hides it next to the clock instead of closing it.
If you start eM Client again while it’s still running in the background, the new window may not appear, and several eM Client processes can pile up. This could also explain why the database check found errors after you ended the processes in Task Manager.”

The windows standard does allow different behavior when closing via X vs. Exit, however I have neither option enabled that would minimize to the tray, therefore IMO closing with X should be equivalent to Exit. Also since there is no traditional menu line at the top of the window, finding Exit is not as intuitive, and I suspect most people close via X.

In any event it’s sloppy programming (IMO a defect) to allow a program to start back up before it has stopped all the processes from the shutdown command. I am interested in hearing other opinions on this subject.