Why I regret ever adopting EM Client

Here is why I regret ever adopting EM Client (not to mention recommending it to friends) and why I am going back to Thunderbird…

I am not a computer/internet rookie. I’ve been online since 2001. I am no expert, but I am savvy enough to have managed to avoid professional PC help for twelve long years; I even install additional RAM myself. (Not much of a feat, I know - but I am familiar with internet forums, and I know how quickly people assume you’re electronically illiterate when you dare to criticise an application).

In all this time, I’ve worked with Outlook Express and Thunderbird, not to mention trying out many other email clients (just like I’ve tried out many browsers; I like to keep abreast of what’s happening).

I’ve had EM Client for two months minus two days. In this very short time, I’ve spent, cumulatively, days - if not weeks - repairing it, uninstalling and reinstalling it, performing System Restore and countless other chores - time that I’ll never get back and that I would have liked to spend otherwise.

The issues were varied, but they appeared fairly quickly. (Remember, I’ve only had it for two months!)
There were also in-built features - or rather, their lack - that I didn’t like.
(For example, not being able to cancel an outgoing email. It’s ridiculous! Outlook could do this ten years ago; Thunderbird can do it - but Em Client can’t?)

Today, however, the client was suddenly unable to connect to the server and I could not download any new messages, even though no settings had been changed and the in-built diagnostics showed everything was OK. (I was able to download and read them perfectly fine in Google webmail.) It kept saying that the messages “will be downloaded the next time I go online” - and I WAS online, all the time.