When deleting emails from list, it jumps to the next email

Is there a setting that prevent this?

When using the trash can icon in the email list, the email shown in the view pane jumps to the next email. I’d like it to stay on the email that is currently being viewed…

If using the delete button at the top of the screen to delete the currently viewed email, then I would expect it to go to the next email in the list…