Unable to backup

Hi, I’ve been using eM Client for several years without any problems. Suddenly, I am unable to backup. I just get a message saying “An error occurred - database or disk is full”. I usually back up to an external drive (with ~500GB free), but I have also tried backing up to my internal D: (with 550Gb free). It makes no difference.
I have deleted all mails older than 01/01/2017 from my database (which should have dramatically reduced it’s size) but this also made no difference.
There are no errors shown when I open eM client

How do I get it to back up successfully?

The log says:
09:34:56 Database backup: Failed
09:34:57   System.IO.IOException: database or disk is full —> System.Data.SQLite.SQLiteException: database or disk is full
09:34:57    at System.Data.SQLite.SQLiteBlob.Read(Byte[] buffer, Int32 count, Int32 offset)
09:34:57    at MailClient.Storage.Data.BlobStream.Read(Byte[] buffer, Int32 offset, Int32 count)
09:34:57    — End of inner exception stack trace —
09:34:57    at MailClient.Storage.Data.BlobStream.Read(Byte[] buffer, Int32 offset, Int32 count)
09:34:57    at MailClient.Streams.StreamHelper.CopyStream(Stream inputStream, Stream outputStream, Nullable1 cancellationToken, ProgressReporter reporter) 09:34:57    at MailClient.Storage.Data.DatabaseCopyTool.CopyContents(Table table, Boolean sortDesc) 09:34:57    at MailClient.Storage.Data.DatabaseCopyTool.CopyTableData(Table table) 09:34:57    at MailClient.Storage.Data.DatabaseCopyTool.CopyInternal(String specificTable, Boolean copyIndexesViewsAndTriggers) 09:34:57    at MailClient.Storage.Data.DatabaseCopyTool.CopySchema(String schema) 09:34:57    at MailClient.Storage.Data.DbRepository1.Backup(String dataStoreLocation, SQLiteConnection sourceConnection, SQLiteConnection destinationConnection, CancellationToken token, TransferredSizeUpdated parentProgressTracker)