The google "less-secure apps" problem

Hi - I see this thread from 5 years ago addressing my issue, but it leaves us hanging.

So, I am asking:

• what is the latest advice from emclient as to settings for accessing google accounts so that this “enable access to less secure apps” setting on google does not have to be checked? Or is this more of a problem on the google side? I have had this problem for years with my previous email client accessing google and I am seriously tired of the problem. Also, I am not technical, so my expectation in paying for a new email client is:

• Please make the solution very easy to implement for a non-technical person
    or

• Please explain how google makes this impossible.

You no longer need to use “Less Secure” for sometime now with eM Client. EMC will work fine now with Google Secure access enabled.

You can also enable Google 2 step verification in Google online and eM Client also now supports that.

Note:- When you have Google 2 Step verification enabled, Google don’t allow you to use the Less secure option.

Latest versions for Pc and Mac if you don’t have it - https://www.emclient.com/release-history

1 Like

Hi - unfortunately this has not been the case for me so far. I loaded up my emclient recently not having used it for awhile and, as per usual, had trouble with google mail until I went online and checked off to allow less secure apps.

My version is 8.1.1054

I will consider enabling 2 factor authentication if I have to on my gmail accounts, but I would prefer some less cumbersome solution.

cyberzork

1d

You no longer need to use “Less Secure” for sometime now with eM Client. EMC will work fine now with Google Secure access enabled.

You can also enable Google 2 step verification in Google online and eM Client also now supports that.

Note:- When you have Google 2 Step verification enabled, Google don’t allow you to use the Less secure option.