How to return to inbox after deleting message

I tried version 10 beta and changed back. I’m now using 9.2.2258 (7080479) and have lost some settings ( I Think). If I read a message and don’t need to keep it I go to the top of the screen in the center and hit the delete button. It is then taking me to the next unread message. I want to return directly to the inbox instead. I thought I could do that before and it seems like there was a setting for it someplace. I simply can’t find it. Is there one, and if so where. thanks.