email folders

I had a problem with my computer and i had to reinstall windows 10. After that i reinstalled emClient. When i reinstalled emclient it was installed with all my old emais and folders. How is it that? Since everything had been deleted why they old emails and folders were installed. Before reinstalled windows i had exported all my emails and folders so i can imported when I would reinstall emclient. But now after reinstalled emclient it seems the old emails and folders also installed. 

I’m no expert, but I’m guessing that maybe your email accounts are set up as IMAP (or even POP3 but with the option to leave the mail on the server).

eMclient simply re-downloaded them ?>.

You are correct Adam. With some setups the email client just presents a cached copy of what is on the server, so setting up the account on another computer will show the same data.  However, some things will not be synced with the server like items stored in local folders, categories, Rules, signatures, templates, settings, etc…

The best method when moving from one computer to another, or reinstalling the OS, is to first backup (Menu > File > Backup) on one computer and then restore on the other. This will make an exact duplicate. You should also deactivate the license on the old computer and then activate it on the new one.  You can do that in Menu > Help > License.

Thanks, Gary - I may just have to bookmark this reply for future reference!!!

There is some information in the FAQ, but I don’t think most users go there.

Thank you for the quick reply. I didn’t know about the backup and restore option. What I did before I reinstalled windows is to export emails, the settings and the contacts so later I could import them.