Conversation mode slowing everything down in v.8

I’ve been using eM Client for about 4 months (one month free and three months Pro), having migrated from Outlook because of the expense of the latter. I thought everything was okay, so I gladly shelved out for the Pro version, and I got my wife to migrate and go Pro too. We’re both using the Pro (for Individuals) v. 8.2.1473.

Everything was fine,… except that it was excruciatingly slow. Not only was the program slow, it slowed down my entire machine. I would start the program, and then do other stuff because I couldn’t use a browser, word processor, or any other program because when eM Client was starting, all my computer’s resources would be taken up. If I put my computer to sleep, on resuming it would be several minutes before I could use the computer again while eM Client caught up to speed.

My wife was having the exact same problem, so I started looking for an alternative while at the same time looking to see what was causing the issue. Today (end-August 2021) I came across a 2020 thread where someone suggested that in v. 8 switching off conversation mode would speed up the program.

I did that and the difference to my entire machine is like night and day. Only thing is, I like conversation mode as it simplifies my life. Can anyone suggest how I can keep conversation mode on without having eM Client hijack my entire system and bog me down?

The conversation mode slowing other programs etc was fixed some time ago.

As you have a recent version of eM Client then that shouldn’t be an issue.

Do you run Mechanical or SSD (Solid State) drives. Also how much Ram do you have on yr computers.

Hi. Thanks for responding.