Accidentally deleted contacts - how do I restore them?

In a senior moment I accidentally deleted all my contacts.  I have run the restore tool several times, but it only restores the emails, not the contacts.  

How can I retrieve my contacts from the backup?

If the contacts are synced with an online provider, like GMail, the restored data will be overwritten (deleted) as soon as the sync takes place.

Disconnect from the Internet and do the restore. Confirm that the contacts are there. Move them to Local Folders, then reconnect to the Internet. Once the account is synced, you can move the Local Folder contacts to the online contact folder.

If you can’t see the Local Folders, you can enable them in Menu > Tools > Settings > General > Show Local Folders.